Election 2016: No-public-rally for expense-less campaign for Lope de Vega candidates

Catarman, N. Samar – In an election construed to be the most expensive election in Philippine electoral history, would you believe that local candidates of Lope de Vega agreed among themselves not to conduct public political rally to avoid incurring too much campaign expense? 

Opposing political camps in this municipality made a pact that they will not conduct public political campaigns this 2016 elections primarily to ensure that they will not be spending much for public campaigns. 

Candidates instead have to conduct house-to-house and hand-shaking campaign which is more personal and economical to sustain during the whole 45-day campaign period. Residents of the municipality said that this kind of set up is beneficial for voters too as they will not be subjected to too much political pressures. 

According to them, public campaigns become more divisive to communities as many people are subjected to political pressures during sorties. “Nadiri gud kami sini nga hakot-hakot sa mga lugar nga gin kampanyahan (We don’t like being transported in groups to areas where rallies are conducted),” said Raul Dela Cruz. “Bisan kun nadiri pero kay gin pupugos man, sige nala (Even if it’s against your will, since we are forced to go, we will just go),” he continued. 

Northern Samar has always been in the watch list of COMELEC due to political violence in the past elections. The Philippine National Police however said that there were no major incident so far in the province involving election violence. 

Lope de Vega’s top post is being vied by incumbent Mayor Ana Palloc (LP) and challenger May Custorio (NP). Vice Mayor Bobby Saludario is being tried to be unseated by Annie Jaca (NP). 

Candidates for Sangguniang Bayan are: Renier Adimos, Rodelito Aguilar, Doming Alvarez, Kathleen Bandal, Honeybelle Eden Bation, Greg Carpio, Meriam Carpio, Darwin Cuanico, Boy Diño Danuco, Cesar De Pedro, Ana Dela Cruz, Inday Duarte, Danny Espedilla, Oscar Justan, Rogel Justan, Critner John Sabilao, Sarah Sagorio, Joselito Saludario and Jeo Salunoy. 

The municipality has 22 barangays and a total population of close to 14,000.00
Share on Google Plus

About sinirangan newsplus

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.